top of page
Search

The Main Issue of MMORPGs

Why MMORPGs like ESO, WoW, and Runescape are so hard to actually get into.

Firstly I want to say, none of these are bad games, heck my most played game is

WoW and the game I'm grinding right now is ESO (Elder scrolls online) but there are

major issues especially right now with MMORPGs.

I will not say the genre is dying, but it is slowly fading. If we go back 10/15 years ago,

(basically before Minecraft was created) WoW was the biggest game out there. Open

world, with countless customization, countless things to do. It,s the typical

MMORPG. But that's where the issues come in...


It got too hard. While I love the games and I don't want to discredit that it's

gotten too far, it's gotten to a point where for newcomers you are either at a huge

disadvantage or there is so much to do and your brain goes to mush. For example, I

am kinda new at ESO I haven't played much but the resources and crafting are a huge

deal in this game. I was doing fine and I finally recently maxed my skills in

Blacksmithing and Tailoring... only to find the resources I need to use have gone up

10x. From 15 ingots to 150 per piece of armour/weapon/amulet. There are 12 total

slots in the armoury. So that is 1800 ingots.



This for long-term players is easy because if you deconstruct everything as you have

played the game you are probably sitting on a lot of these ingots (especially if you are

on ESO plus using craft bag, and I will get into subscriptions later) however for the

newcomers, it's an abysmal journey, and I've quite abruptly become overwhelmed.

We also get our version of power creep which is where the base game (aka starting areas) items become more or less unusable as there are 10x better items in the DLCs

area. Now I will congratulate mainly ESO (as I don't have recent experience with the

other MMORPGs) as they have combated this by allowing you to essentially start

anywhere as everything scales to you. But this does also mess up the story just a tiny

bit. As you're starting a little in the future And if you like your stories to flow and

mesh well (like I do as I like to somewhat pay attention to the story even on my

3rd/4th character) it does become an issue.



Subscriptions... are the bane of MMORPGs. In WoW, you pay for the game. Pay

for the expansions, and then have to pay to use the service! Plus all the in-game

things you can pay for. This here is ludicrous. How can you expect a newer player to be

happy about spending up to £100? Thankfully if you buy an expansion pack you get

everything that came before (so if I buy WoW shadowlands I get everything that

came before that) however, I would have to buy the next expansion... this highly

irritates me as to how can a casual player warrant spending £15 a month to play a game

he's brought. And then buy a new DLC every 2-3years.


Eso has subscriptions where you gain access to DLC Content, gain double bank

space and a craft bag, and give you 1600 crowns which is their premium currency.

Sounds great... now the loophole, once you got it once, got that taste of the craft bag

and the double bank space. You realise how impactful it is. With all the resources I

hold, I can not stop paying for ESO+ if I want to play the game. Which means if I want

to stop playing. I gotta cancel the sub and then start it again when I'm on my ESO grind.

And for Runescape, don't get me started... to access certain gear requirements

and certain area-level requirements you need their version of a subscription (or a bond)

just to level up that attribute as they are locked behind a paywall.



Now, these games are great games. And MMORPGs are definitely a flavour but they can

be so hard to get into when 1 its a massive grind, especially for newcomers, and 2 there

are big paywalls that can drastically make the game easier for you or even enhance

you tenfold. And 3, it's not something you can just spend 1 hour on. You have to go

and spend a good 3 hours to get something actually done.



I love these games I really do but is there something that we can do to make

MMORPGs back up to the top? Can we take out this battle royale dominance we

have had for the last 5 years? No one knows.


Thanks for reading!

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

CHANGE YOUR ENERGY DRINK NOW!

Now we are in 2023, many of us have decided to try a different lifestyle. Whether it’s because you’re out of breath going up the stairs, can’t see your feet anymore, or just bored of having to push th

bottom of page